Tuesday, January 13, 2009

The Hit Parade Hall Of Fame Announces Their 2008 Inductees

We just received word from John Rook, President of The Hit Parade Hall Of Fame, that they've announced The 2008 Inductees.

Here are the details:

The vote of fans worldwide have aided the nominating committee in inducting 33 more recording stars into the Hit Parade Hall of Fame.

The 2008 inductees are the Bee Gees, Chuck Berry, Bread, Freddy Cannon, the Carpenters, Chicago, Lou Christie, John Denver, Dion, Doris Day, the Eagles, the Everly Brothers, Roy Hamilton, Tommy James & the Shondells, Elton John, Tom Jones, the Kingston Trio, Jerry Lee Lewis, Frankie Laine, Dean Martin, Guy Mitchell, the Monkees, Olivia Newton-John, Johnnie Ray, Johnny Rivers, Kenny Rogers, Linda Ronstadt, Sonny & Cher, Kay Starr, BJ Thomas, Johnny Tillotson, Jackie Wilson and Stevie Wonder.

Qualifications for nomination require an artist to have had at least two top ten hits of any genre during a thirty year period beginning in 1950. It is the vote of fans, coupled with other factors such as career longevity, record sales and concert success that are then voted on by the nominating committee at the end of each year with inductees and nominees for the new year announced shortly thereafter.

An artist has three years to gain induction before their candidacy is discontinued as a current nominee. Voting for new nominees begin when they are announced.

Previous inductees include Paul Anka, the Beatles, Tony Bennett, Pat Boone, the Beach Boys, Teresa Brewer, Johnny Cash, Ray Charles, Jimmy Clanton, Chubby Checker, Nat “King” Cole, Perry Como, Bing Crosby, Bobby Darin, Neil Diamond, Fats Domino, the Four Seasons, Aretha Franklin, Connie Francis, Brenda Lee, Johnny Mathis, Ricky Nelson, Roy Orbison, Patti Page, Elvis Presley, Neil Sedaka, Frank Sinatra and Diana Ross & the Supremes.

While voting for recording stars already nominated, fans are encouraged to suggest future nominees and visit those already inducted at the website of the Hit Parade Hall of Fame.

More details can be found on the Hit Parade Hall Of Fame Website:
Hit Parade Hall of Fame

Our congratulations go out to all of this year's inductees. A list of 2009 nominees will follow shortly.