Sunday, October 23, 2011

Motown Monday

Hello Kent,
To all the other Motown fans out there, some pretty good sets our coming our way.
2011 is the 50th Anniversary for both The Supremes and The Temptations. 
In 1961 both groups signed onto the now legendary Detroit label. 
On October 24, Hipo-Select and Universal will release a box set for each group.
Every single A-side and B-side is included, along with foreign language singles, alternate takes, and more.  Complete with detailed essays with loads of info on each song.
The sets focus on both groups' Detroit years.
Diana Ross And The Supremes:
The Temptations:
On November 15, Hipo-Select will release an EXPANDED edition of The Supremes' 1965 Top 10 album, "More Hits By The Supremes".  Including "Stop In The Name Of Love", "Back In My Arms Again" & "Nothing But Heartaches"!!!!  Hear the album like you did back in the day - the set includes both MONO and STEREO versions.  Packed with outtakes, interviews, alternate tracks, and a duplicate of an original concert brochure!
An exciting year (and Christmas!) for fans of 2 of America's top groups of the '60's.
Also be on the lookout for Vol. 2 of The Marvelettes complete album collection, as well as a Mary Wells box set due out next year.
AJK, The Youngest Oldies Freak around
These are a couple of AMAZING compilations ... good enough to replace whatever you might have in the way of Supremes and / or Temptations "Greatest Hits" CDs in your collection.
But that's not ALL that's going on with these Motown artists.  Certainly, this covers the "audio" end of things ... but let's not forget the recent VIDEO releases spotlighting these two fine Motown artists!!!
SOFA Entertainment (and have recently released special DVD Sets for both The Supremes and The Temptations ... along with a "Best Of Motown" release spotlighting ALL of the great Motown acts that appeared on The Ed Sullivan Show back in the mid-'60's and early '70's.
Complete details can be found here:

Check out this track listing:
DISC ONE / Volume 1:
1. THE JACKSON 5: I Want You Back, ABC
2. THE SUPREMES: You Can’t Hurry Love
3. THE TEMPTATIONS: Don’t Look Back
4. FOUR TOPS: Reach Out I’ll Be There
5. SMOKEY ROBINSON & THE MIRACLES: I Second That Emotion, If You Can Want, Going To A Go-Go
6. GLADYS KNIGHT & THE PIPS: If I Were Your Woman
7. STEVIE WONDER: Fingertips Pt. 2
8. DIANA ROSS & THE SUPREMES: I’m Living in Shame
9. THE TEMPTATIONS: Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
10. MARVIN GAYE: Take This Heart of Mine
12. THE TEMPTATIONS Ain’t No Mountain High Enough, I’ll Be There, My Sweet Lord
13. DIANA ROSS & THE SUPREMES: Someday We’ll Be Together
14. GLADYS KNIGHT & THE PIPS: I Heard It Through The Grapevine
DISC ONE / Volume 2:
1. THE JACKSON 5: Stand, Who’s Lovin’ You, I Want You Back
2. THE SUPREMES: Come See About Me
3. STEVIE WONDER: For Once In My Life
4. MARTHA & THE VANDELLAS: Dancing In The Street
6. THE SUPREMES: My World Is Empty Without You
7. FOUR TOPS: When You’re Smiling, It’s The Same Old Song, Something About You, I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch)
8. SMOKEY ROBINSON & THE MIRACLES: Abraham, Martin & John
9. THE SUPREMES: Come See About Me, Stop! In The Name Of Love, You Can’t Hurry Love, You Keep Me Hangin’ On, I Hear A Symphony
10. THE TEMPTATIONS: Runaway Child, Running Wild
11. THE SUPREMES: Love Is Like An Itching In My Heart
14. FOUR TOPS: It's All In The Game, Nice & Easy
DISC TWO / Volume 3:
1. DIANA ROSS & THE SUPREMES: Forever Came Today
3. THE JACKSON 5: The Love You Save
4. THE TEMPTATIONS: I Can’t Get Next To You
5. THE SUPREMES: The Happening
6. FOUR TOPS: Reach Out I’ll Be There, I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie, Honey Bunch), Bernadette, Climb Ev’ry Mountain
7. GLADYS KNIGHT & THE PIPS: Nitty Gritty, By The Time I Get To Phoenix, Stop and Get a Hold of Myself
8. THE TEMPTATIONS: You’ve Made Me So Very Happy
10. THE TEMPTATIONS: Psychedelic Shack
12. FOUR TOPS: Put A Little Love In Your Heart
So ... not only can you pick up the COMPLETE SINGLES COLLECTION by both The Supremes and The Temptations ... but you can ALSO pick up THE VERY BEST OF THE ED SULLIVAN SHOW APPEARANCES by these two artists.  (More details below)
ALL of these Motown DVD's are currently available through the usual sources (, Best Buy, etc, etc) as well as the OFFICIAL Ed Sullivan Website:  
(And they're VERY reasonably priced, too!!!)
The Best Of The Supremes on The Ed Sullivan Show collects 22 of the Supremes’ greatest performances, including ones never before available on DVD. Included is the Supremes’ very first appearance on The Ed Sullivan Show in December 1964, showcasing their No. 1 hit “Come See About Me,” plus other timeless performances including “You Can’t Hurry Love,” “Love Child” and “The Happening.” And, for the first time on DVD, this collection includes “Up the Ladder to the Roof” which is the only appearance by the “New Supremes” after Diana Ross went on to a solo career. This collection of performances truly showcases why The Supremes are one of Motown’s biggest and most beloved acts.
1. Come See About Me
2. You Can’t Hurry Love
3. Love Is Like An Itching In My Heart
4. My Favorite Things
5. The Happening
6. More
7. Love Child
8. Always
9.  You’re Nobody ‘Til Somebody Loves You
10. No Matter What Sign You Are
11. Medley: Baby Love, Stop! In The Name of Love,  Come See About Me, My World Is Empty Without You, You Can’t Hurry Love, The Happening, You Keep Me Hanging On, Reflections, Love Child, I Hear A
12. Forever Came Today 
13. BONUS Up The Ladder To The Roof

For the first time on DVD, this collection offers the Temptations’ very best Ed Sullivan Show performances. Included here is the group’s very first appearance in May 1967, in which they performed a medley of hits including “My Girl” and “(I Know) I’m Losing You.” Other songs featured are the group’s No. 1 hit “I Can’t Get Next to You,” a playful version of “You’ve Made Me So Very Happy,” the Top Ten hit “Psychedelic Shack,” and the 1969 hit single “Runaway Child, Running Wild” with Dennis Edwards replacing David Ruffin. The Temptations’ last performance on The Ed Sullivan Show (1971) is also included, broadcast just a few months before the show went off the air, in which they performed “Get Ready” and their No. 1 hit “Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me).”
1. Medley: Girl (Why You Wanna Make Me Blue), All I Need, My Girl, I’m Losing You
2. Don’t Look Back
3. Medley with The Supremes: Get Ready, Stop! In The Name of Love, My Guy, Baby Love, I’m Losing You
4. Runaway Child, Running Wild
5. I Can’t Get Next To You
6. You’ve Made Me So Very Happy
7. Psychedelic Shack
8. Get Ready
9. Medley: Ain’t No Mountain High Enough, I’ll Be There, My Sweet Lord
10. Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
11.Hello Young Lovers
12. Autumn Leaves
And, if you're a fan of The Ed Sullivan Show (and who ISN'T?!?!?  This is the way MOST of us first discovered many of these FINE artists in the first place!), you're REALLY going to enjoy our upcoming series spotlighting this landmark television institution.
Got some Ed Sullivan memories you'd like to share?  Drop us a note!
Are you one of the many artists who appeared on Ed's program???  We'd love to hear from you, too.  Being invited to do The Sullivan Show was the coupe de grace back then ... you knew you had REALLY made it if you were asked to do The Ed Sullivan Show.  What was that experience like?  We wanna hear it from the OTHER side of the screen!!!
Stay tuned ... more details to come.  Meanwhile, be sure to pick up these hot new releases for your music  video collection.